Under the new Baseball HOF eligibility rules, the following players wouldn’t have been voted in

A new set of rules at the HOF makes the 15-year eligibility period only 10 years (players who already are past the 10 years will be grandfathered in). Besides making it that much harder for Tim Raines to get to 75% in time, this also makes one wonder who in the Baseball HOF voted in by the writers would have not been voted in under the new series of rules.

I checked, and these players wouldn’t have made it (of course, many of them may have ended up getting inducted by the Veteran’s Committee):

  • Harry Heilmann
  • Bill Terry
  • Rabbit Maranville
  • Dazzy Vance
  • Gabby Hartnett
  • Red Ruffing
  • Ralph Kiner
  • Bob Lemon
  • Duke Snider
  • Bruce Sutter
  • Jim Rice
  • Bert Blyleven

And now you know…