All-Star Wrap-Up and MVP of Yesterday update

Well, that was fun.

To be sure, there have been many better All-Star Games. But there have also been many worse All-Star Games as well. And, what’s more, the festivities themselves were above average- the Home Run Derby, for example, has been reborn thanks to the brackets and time limits. It certainly isn’t perfect, but for the first time in quite awhile, I felt like I was watching the Home Run Derby beyond the first round because I was enjoying it, not simply because it was on.

And then there is Mike Trout. He batted four times last night, and in some ways the game became his showcase. He homered, he walked, he beat out a throw to first to avoid a double play. He rightfully was named MVP, his second in a row (the first player to do that), and he’s only 24. It is not out of the realm of possibility that, one day, the quote “The All-Star Game was made for Willie Mays” will instead be “The All-Star Game was made for Mike Trout.”

Not surprisingly, Trout is the MVP of Yesterday, just as he was the MVP of the game. Standings, as always, after the jump:


Corey Kluber: 4

Dallas Keuchel: 3

Josh Collmenter: 2

Bryce Harper: 2

Miguel Cabrera: 2

Shelby Miller: 2

Jason Hammel: 2

Jacob deGrom: 2

Adam Jones: 2

Yunel Escobar: 2

Max Scherzer: 2

Albert Pujols: 2

Madison Bumgarner: 2

Johnny Cueto: 2

Clayton Kershaw: 2

Mike Trout: 2

Jason Heyward: 1

Sonny Gray: 1

Buster Posey: 1

Adrian Gonzalez: 1

Matt Harvey: 1

Joey Votto: 1

Jimmy Nelson: 1

Jorge Soler: 1

Chase Utley: 1

Collin McHugh: 1

John Lackey: 1

Masahiro Tanaka: 1

Luis Valbuena: 1

Zack Cozart: 1

David Phelps: 1

Felix Hernandez: 1

Rubby De La Rosa: 1

Alex Gordon: 1

Danny Duffy: 1

Marcell Ozuna: 1

Miguel Gonzalez: 1

Tim Lincecum: 1

Yasmani Grandal: 1

Alexei Ramirez: 1

Michael Pineda: 1

Jake Arrieta: 1

Kyle Lohse: 1

Brandon Crawford: 1

Kendrys Morales: 1

Mike Wright: 1

Justin Upton: 1

Drew Hutchinson: 1

Josh Donaldson: 1

Noah Syndegaard: 1

Josh Hamilton: 1

Martin Maldonado: 1

Joey Gallo: 1

Mike Leake: 1

Chi Chi Gonzalez: 1

Jose Bautista: 1

Chris Sale: 1

Chris Heston: 1

Yasiel Puig: 1

Scott Kazmir: 1

Justin Smoak: 1

C.J. Wilson: 1

Francisco Liriano: 1

Brock Holt: 1

Tommy Milone: 1

J.D. Martinez: 1

Marco Estrada: 1

Carlos Gonzalez: 1

Yovani Gallardo: 1

Steven Matz: 1

Clay Buchholz: 1

Carlos Carrasco: 1

Carlos Gomez: 1

C.J. Cron: 1

Mat Latos: 1

Jon Lester: 1

Zack Greinke: 1

Danny Salazar: 1

Taylor Jungmann: 1

Kirk Nieuwenhuis: 1


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s